Photographing for The Clock

The following photographs were taken by myself and published in The Clock, student newspaper of Plymouth State University. Working for The Clock, each week I was given a topic that someone on the team was writing about. Then as a photographer, I set out on a hunt to capture a photo that matches the idea or theme of the article. Through my photos, I have portrayed us as a community, and worked towards uniting us in how we feel and what we are surrounded by on campus, which at times was a difficult task. While some photo assignments were straight forward, such as: photographing a new store downtown, or an event on campus, others were very vague and prompted me to get creative and think outside the box. I had to think about how to photograph a feeling, and that took a lot of thought and preparation. Most of the time, it helped me to think about a humans 5 senses: sight, touch, taste, hearing, and smell. I would think about how to capture each in a photo. Sight of course, seems the most obvious in a photograph. But how do you possibly capture a scent, or a sound in a still picture frame? It might just mean capturing that moment of steam trailing off a cup of coffee, or the moment of vibration through a piano players body. I learned to really think before shooting, to focus on showing not telling, and to study my subject intensively. Some assignments I would spend hours, days, and hundreds of photos until I knew I created something really worthy. However, I truly enjoy every moment of it. I get to connect with not only people, but places, and ideas. It is truly fulfilling to capture moments that make you and others, feel something. These are a few of my published works that I had the most fun with:

newspaper-photography (1)_Page_1

  • photograph for an article written about “the fear of missing out”

newspaper-photography (1)_Page_3

  • This photograph portrays the crazy, fun world, as well as hard work of majoring in Theater at Plymouth State University. The major involves many different identity’s, directions, ups and downs. I captured this photo in the costume design room.

newspaper-photography (1)_Page_4

  • Photograph of the comedian that visited our school

DSC_8405

  • Getting to know individuals on campus.

newspaper-photography (1)_Page_5DSC_8403

  • One of our favorite seasons on campus: fall.

newspaper-photography (1)_Page_2

  • New art studio opening in Downtown Plymouth, NH

10679647_707928395943432_3703685892629326408_o

  • The campuses popular anonymous social media app called Yik Yak leaves everyone wondering: Who is the person behind the Yik Yak post?

newspaper-photography (1)_Page_6

  • The school’s display in the Silver Center for the Arts.

Photographing for the newspaper is a way of connecting with so many people. However, photographing outside of the newspaper, is where I really learned to connect with myself. Although I love doing both, here is where the camera takes me when not on an assignment for an article:

2e2dde62-3293-436b-b969-09cfc08eaf63

London, England

f91f660e-a91d-42fe-83de-871153d9c352

b6960fe9-5058-40de-ad20-556ab9f74e58

Corona, California

0fcd589c-376b-4ec3-b046-6923dc38f4ab

09d40938-6c3b-4e0f-92dd-0c606da3af0f

Boston, Massachusetts

e0801728-bb90-408d-864f-49f16f37194a

9e96e58c-7e69-4551-b40f-6487cacb48ef

Plymouth, New Hampshire

f80dca09-dbd7-454b-b33c-f5612b46000c

DSC_9222.jpg

DSC_8413

COPYRIGHT: CARLY RISTUCCIA
THIS WORK IS LICENSED UNDER ACREATIVE COMMONS ATTRIBUTION 4.0 INTERNATIONAL LICENSE
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Amir.H.Ghazi says:

    Thank you for following, pretty😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fitnesspal says:

    Visit http://www.nostalgiatravels. WordPress. Com and nice work 👏 👏

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

