Musical Genious

Learning the language of music, has taught me more about life than any advice or pep talk could. Listening to music, has taught me more about myself, than any other person could define me to be. As Bruce Springsteen sings out, “we learned more from a 3 minute record, baby than we ever learned in school”, in his track “No Surrender”, I thought to myself, there was nothing that could be more true. Most people consider listening to music as a pastime or a hobby, but did they ever consider it as a lesson? Listening to a great song, is like sitting through an interesting class with a really great teacher. Taking in the tune and words of a great artist, is like opening up a book and learning all the morals of a story. I know music may not be everyone’s obsession, but everyone has the opportunity to take something amazing away from music. They can let it shape them in all the stages of their lives. And then, they can play back old songs and be taken back to who they used to be. I know music may not teach us how to add or multiply. But music teaches us appreciation, perseverance, creativity, and overall enjoyment of life…isn’t that just as important? Anyway, after that ramble I thought I’d end this with one of my favorite quotes from The Dead Poets Society, (which is a great movie you should take the time to see). This is a quote that pretty much sums up how I feel about music and why I dedicate so much time to it. So, in one scene, teacher John Keating stands in front of his English class proudly and says, “We don’t read and write poetry because it’s cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion. And medicine, law, business, engineering, these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for”.

 

 

 

 

 

copyright: Carly Ristuccia

Leave a Reply

