The Question

There is one daunting question that I find so difficult to answer, because in a way it seems like there is an infinite amount of answers. You must be thinking: What in the world kind of question has an infinite amount of answer besides π’s equivalenceWell for me it is this question: “What kind of music do you listen to?” Yes I know, this is a casual, non-violent, non-threatening, non-mathematical question, that should not be deemed as daunting. However, for me defining a “kind” of music I listen to, just seems too closed minded. Yes I like Jazz, but I also like Hip-hop, Folk, Country, Blues, Pop, R&B, Latin, Indie, Classical, Classical Rock ext ext ext.  I am constantly listening to different artists and different genres. So what do I just list every kind of music there is? I cant just say “everything” because that’s too broad and dis interesting. I can’t just say one or two different kinds because there’s so much more than that. After the 3rd or 4th time of being asked the question, I decided I needed to think of a straight forward answer. For me, there is a certain music for dancing, singing, driving, being lazy, cooking, studying, even showering. I decided I would go with the music I turn on when I am in my room lonley and bored. In that case if I had to answer, I would define that music as: A retro style of music inspired from the 50s or 60s, that has either a jazzy or indie feel. This is because all of my modern day favorite artists have been inspired by the era of Etta James, Aretha Franklin, Elvis Presley, Tony Bennett, Frank Sinatra ext. Artists such as Amy Winehouse, Lana Del Rey, Sia, Stevie Nicks, Lorde, and Lauryn Hill have built off of this generation in what I believe is the most positive way. As you can see, that is quite a random assortment of artists I have listed. But in a way, when studied they are very much alike…

 

 

 

 

copyright: Carly Ristuccia

Leave a Reply

